Election information

One of the major responsibilities of jurisdictional conferences is electing new bishops to fill vacancies within the jurisdiction's College of Bishops.

Four bishops have announced their retirements effective Aug. 31, 2016 -- Bishop Michael Coyner of the Indiana Area; Bishop John Hopkins of the Ohio East Area; Bishop Jonathan Keaton of the Illinois Area and Bishop Deborah Lieder Kiesey of the Michigan Area.

Four bishops will be elected from a field of nominees. Some candidates have received endorsements from delegations and the biographical information will note such items. Voting will begin on opening day and continue until four candidates are elected. By NCJ rules and The Book of Discipline, a candidate must receive 60 percent of the vote in order to be elected.

Once the new bishops are elected, the NCJ Committee on Episcopacy begins the work of assigning bishops to the nine episcopal areas within the jurisdiction.