Equalization members announced for 2021 annual conference


(NOTE: The list of churches receiving an equalization delegate was updated Dec. 4, 2020, after an error was made to the original list. The list below is the revised listing)

Annual Conference Secretary Ethan Carnes has announced that 186 churches will receive an additional lay member to the 2021 annual conference. The announcement was made today.

The 186 additional lay delegates will be needed to equalize the number of clergy and lay delegates at the 2021 annual conference.  The equalization formula is set by the Standing Rules of the Annual Conference III.C.   The purpose of equalization is to ensure an equal number of laity and clergy at the annual conference.
Clergy members of the annual conference consist of all active and retired deacons and elders in full connection, provisional members, and associate members. Local pastors under appointment are included, as well. (2016 Book of Discipline, ¶32). Each charge in the conference elects one layperson for each pastor appointed to the charge.
Churches which paid 100 percent of their apportionments in the previous year (in this case, 2019) are to be granted one "equalization member.”   Eligibility will be granted to the 186 largest churches according to membership who have paid 100% of their 2019 apportionments.  Equalization members are elected to serve to the end of the quadrennium as long as the congregation continues to pay 100 percent of its apportionments.
Please notify your district office if you have not filed your equalized member with your 2020 Charge Conference paperwork.
The following churches shall receive one equalization lay member to annual conference:
Springfield First UMC
Bloomington Wesley UMC
Troy UMC
Crossroads UMC
Peoria First UMC
Normal First UMC
Charleston Wesley UMC
Champaign Faith UMC
Pontiac First UMC
Springfield Laurel UMC
Canton Wesley UMC
Morton UMC
Macomb Wesley UMC
Effingham Centenary UMC
Belleville Union UMC
Taylorville UMC
East Moline Christ Multisite UMC
Pekin First UMC
Geneseo Grace UMC
O'Fallon First UMC
Monticello UMC
Carbondale First UMC
Marion Aldersgate UMC
Pana UMC
Edwardsville Saint John's UMC
Pekin Grace UMC
Mahomet UMC
Danville Saint James UMC
Kewanee First UMC
Mattoon First UMC
Lincoln First UMC
Moline Riverside UMC
Champaign First UMC
Dunlap Prospect UMC
Dwight UMC
Coal City UMC
Gibson City UMC
Mount Vernon First UMC
Willow Hill UMC
Quincy Vermont Street UMC
Galesburg First UMC
Shelbyville First UMC
Sugar Creek UMC
Jerseyville UMC
Decatur First UMC
Peoria University UMC
Vandalia First UMC
Chillicothe First UMC
Orion UMC
Metropolis First UMC
Paxton First UMC
Mackinaw UMC
Fairbury First UMC
Lexington First UMC
Urbana Wesley UMC
Sparta First UMC
Manteno UMC
Monmouth First UMC
Tremont UMC
Chatham UMC
Carlinville UMC
Beardstown First UMC
Petersburg UMC
Paris First UMC
Camp Point UMC
Decatur Grace UMC
Saint Joseph UMC
Gillespie First UMC
Sherman UMC
West Frankfort Trinity UMC
Kankakee Saint Mark UMC
Clinton UMC
Havana First UMC
Tuscola UMC
Jacksonville Wesley Chapel UMC
Harrisburg First UMC
Highland Hope UMC
Arthur UMC
Centralia First UMC
Savoy UMC
Trenton First UMC
Casey UMC
Olney First UMC
Nashville Grace UMC
Momence First UMC
Delavan UMC
Marshall First UMC
Cambridge UMC
Rantoul First UMC
Colona UMC
RiversEdge UMC
Galva First UMC
Streator First UMC
Jacksonville Centenary UMC
Bradley Wesley UMC
El Paso UMC
Arcola UMC
Cerro Gordo UMC
Maryville Saint Luke's UMC
Champaign New Horizon UMC
Tolono UMC
Abingdon UMC
Manito UMC
Nokomis UMC
Pinckneyville UMC
East Peoria First UMC
United Church of Heyworth
Greenville First UMC
Winchester UMC
Living Faith UMC
Neoga Grace UMC
Elmwood UMC
Newton Grace UMC
Peoria Bradley Epworth UMC
Mount Sterling First UMC
Virginia UMC
Fairview Center UMC
Mansfield UMC
Lewistown UMC
Sumner UMC
Watson UMC
Columbia Bethany UMC
Elwin UMC
Reynolds UMC
Roseville UMC
Barry UMC
Peoria Bethel UMC
Warsaw UMC
Carlyle First UMC
Mount Carmel Evangelical UMC
Washington Evangelical UMC
Robinson First UMC
Tonica UMC
Flora First UMC
Homer UMC
Macon UMC
Hoopeston UMC
Urbana First UMC
Countryside UMC
Shields' Chapel UMC
Preemption UMC
Moline Bethel Wesley UMC
Herrin UMC
Villa Grove UMC
Waverly UMC
Carmi Emmanuel UMC
Carrier Mills First UMC
Bement UMC
Eureka UMC
Fisher UMC
Brighton Saint Paul UMC
Beulah UMC
Rock Island Two Rivers UMC
Mossville UMC
Stronghurst UMC
Caseyville UMC
Marshall Armstrong UMC
Port Byron First UMC
Hennepin UMC
Glen Carbon New Bethel UMC
Colchester UMC
Peoria Northwest UMC
Forsyth UMC
Murrayville UMC
Roanoke UMC
Oakford UMC
Sunfield UMC
Springfield Grace UMC
Arenzville UMC
Williamsville UMC
Sidell UMC
Quincy Union UMC
Alpha UMC
Henry UMC
Princeville UMC
Knoxville UMC
Clay City UMC
Hudson UMC
Fithian UMC
Peoria Forrest Hill UMC
Riverton First UMC
Hillsboro UMC
Fairview UMC
Downs UMC
Goreville UMC